Turkey Day 2012 Prep

Leave a comment

OK….so I got lazy last week and didn’t post. Actually, I didn’t post because I got too busy! But, I have a lot of things to recap and will get to them at some point this week.

On to the main topic…Thanksgiving 2012.

This will be Jon and my first Thanksgiving with just the two of us. We have spent every past Thanksgiving with our families, so it will be different. I’ve decided to cook everything except the meat, which will be a Honey Baked Ham because Jon isn’t a huge fan of turkey and it’s been a part of our T-Day traditions. I started researching and planning the menu almost two weeks ago…I quickly found that most recipes are for 10-12 people, so it was a challenge figuring out which ones to use and how to cut them in half. The menu I came up with is far, far, far away from being healthy…but, whatever. It’s Thanksgiving!

Menu:

Appetizers
Rosemary Roasted Cashews
Southern Deviled Eggs

Lunch
Honey Baked Ham
Parker House Rolls
Hash Brown Casserole (per Jon’s momma)
Caramelized Butternut Squash
Corn Pudding (a secret recipe per Abby)
Sautéed Green Beans and Mushrooms

Dessert
Pecan Pie with Vanilla Ice Cream

We decided to make our trip to the store this morning…early…to make sure all the good stuff wasn’t picked over and to avoid the “drama” of the grocery store. We went for a run and then hit up the local Kroger. I was very pleased with the trip; the store wasn’t overly crowded, there was a lot of selection, and I was $40 under my initial budget with $10 in saving from using my Kroger Card. My purchases today even included our usual weekly items and fresh veggies for a dish I’m making Monday night. Stay tuned for that.

Jon in his running attire and our cart full of Turkey Day items.

I’m really looking forward to preparing this meal. Not only am I going to get to cook all morning, but I’m starting a new tradition with Jon. I’m also looking forward to using the brand new measuring cups that I bought yesterday at West Elm. They just launched their “Market” line and it’s like a little slice of heaven to me. I have been using green plastic cups for a long time and as much as I cook – I really wanted something that was better quality. I landed on the copper measuring cups and couldn’t be happier.

West Elm “Market” Copper Measuring Cups and Spoons

I also got a few more mixing bowls and baking sheets from World Market because, you can never have too many of those. So…hopefully I have everything I need! Now I just have to get my time management sorted and I’ll be ready to get cooking. Can’t wait.

Leave a comment